Sand Baggers

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today I ran my first time trial to start the season. I didn’t expect to much; I have lost 20 lbs since the first of the year and have about 30 lbs to go to meet my weight loss goals for the year.

Time trial started at 5:00 a.m. the running group began to show up, same group I trained with last year, I noticed a lot of new people showing up, and these people looked like some running freaks. Richard, the guy who host the group, began to line us up. Everyone began to tell him they would run the trial in 24-27 minutes. I thought cool I won’t look like a chump.

Richard sent me out first bc/ I know the course, we run 5 laps around a local high school. When I finished lap one I looked over my shoulder, and was holding my place well. I don’t know what happened, but half way through the second lap everybody began to blow right by me. As my good friend Drew passed me he stated “WTF these people are fast” I stated back “yes they are some sand bagging SOBs”

They all finished in under 24:00, most finishing in under 20:00. I logged a PR of 25:40, not bad for carrying an extra 30 lbs.

So, the question is to you experienced runners. What happened?

I did not run out of gas.

Did these experienced runners hold back for 2.5 laps to see how they felt and then pick up the pace?

Some input on different strategies would be great, as I have never been coached.

Leave a Reply

